We all know that Kosher foods are the foods consumed by the Jewish people, which meet the requirements of their religion, but how much do we actually know about Kosher foods? What are the foods that Jewish individuals cannot eat? Why is that the case? Here is a brief rundown of the foods that are forbidden to be consumed under Kosher law.
First we will look at meat. Kosher meat must comply with a number of rules under Jewish dietary law. The only types of meat that can be consumed are cattle and game that has cloven hooves and, in the word of the Torah, “chew the cud”. If for example the animal only qualifies for one of these, like the pig for example, then its meat cannot be consumed. Animals that are Kosher are bulls, sheep, lambs, goats, veal, springbok and cows. When the animal is slaughtered, it must be done under the supervision of a Kosher Supervisor. The carcass must be have the blood removed, as well as the veins and the skin. To do this the meat is trebered, then soaked in a bath, then put on special salting tables for an hour on each side.
For birds, the only birds that can be consumed are goose, duck, chick and turkey.
All dairy products must come from Kosher animals and it must not contain any additives that are not Kosher.
One interesting Kosher rule is that it is against dietary law to combine meat and milk. According to the Torah, you cannot cook a young animal in the milk of its mother. As such, milk and meat products can never be mixed together, whether it is cooking them together, or serving them together at the table.
Eggs are allowed, but not if they contain eggs, so all eggs must be examined individually.
Only fish with fins and scales can be consumed, which includes tuna, herring and salmon. Lobster, crab, mussels and shrimp cannot be consumed.
Written by: Yehudith Girshberg